Weather

County,
High Wind Watch issued March 17 at 12:20PM CDT until March 18 at 7:00AM CDT by NWS
Effective: 12:20 p.m. on Monday, March 17, 2014
Expires: 7 p.m. on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

...TWO PERIODS OF STRONG WINDS EXPECTED...
.A STRONG COLD FRONT WILL MOVE THROUGH THE TRI-STATE AREA THIS
EVENING. BEHIND THE FRONT...WINDS COULD GUST TO 45. IN ADDITION
TO THE WINDS SOME BLOWING DUST ARE POSSIBLE.
MUCH STRONGER WINDS WILL BEGIN TO MIX DOWN TO THE SURFACE ACROSS
FAR EASTERN COLORADO AROUND OR SHORTLY AFTER SUNRISE SPREADING
EAST ACROSS THE REMAINDER OF THE AREA DURING THE REST OF THE DAY.
AREAS OF BLOWING DUST ARE AGAIN POSSIBLE.
...WIND ADVISORY REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 8 PM MDT /9 PM CDT/ THIS
EVENING TO 6 AM MDT /7 AM CDT/ TUESDAY...
...HIGH WIND WATCH REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM TUESDAY MORNING THROUGH
TUESDAY AFTERNOON...
* PEAK WINDS...NORTHWEST WINDS 20 TO 30 MPH WITH GUSTS TO 45 MPH
THIS EVENING. NORTHWEST WINDS 35 TO 45 WITH GUSTS IN EXCESS OF
65 MPH POSSIBLE TUESDAY.
* TIMING/DURATION...A PERIOD OF STRONG WINDS WILL FOLLOW A COLD
FRONT PASSAGE THIS EVENING. MUCH STRONGER WINDS ARE EXPECTED
TUESDAY.
* OTHER IMPACTS...AREAS OF BLOWING DUST COULD SIGNIFICANTLY REDUCE
VISIBILITIES IN LOCATIONS WHERE WINDS GUST OVER 45 MPH.

See more at NOAA