Archive for Friday, February 13, 2015

Baldwin wrestlers tune up for league meet two sweep at Osawatomie

February 13, 2015

Baldwin High School wrestlers readied to defend their Frontier League title by sweeping duals Wednesday against Osawatomie and Frontenac.

The Bulldogs open their quest for a fourth-straight Frontier League championship today at Eudora. The team will first hit the mats at 5 p.m. against Paola in the dual-match league meet format.

Baldwin enters the league competition with a 9-2 record in dual meets. The team improved that record Wednesday at Osawatomie with a convincing 57-16 victory against the home-standing Trojans and a 66-12 win against Frontenac.

The Baldwin wrestlers who won both their matches on the night were Jakob Johanning, TJ Hopper, Levi Green, Griffin Wehrman, Ben Morgenstern, Thomas Lisher, Jon Pratt, Owen Tuckfield, Justin Howard, Jake Katzer, Gunther Wehrman, Wyatt Parmley, and Alex Cigard.

Noteworthy performers included No. 1 4A state152 pound Pratt’s win against No. 6 Daniel Dees of Owawatomie, No. 3 ranked Lisher’s defeat of Frontenac wrestler who defeated him in last year’s regional final, and Tuckield’s revenge will against a Frontenac foe who beat him a year ago.

Frontier League meet schedule


5pm Start Time

Rd 1 - Baldwin vs. Paola

Rd 2 - Baldwin vs. DeSoto (est time 6:15pm)

Rd 3 - Baldwin vs. Eudora (est time 7:30pm)

Sat 2/14

10am Start Time

Rd 4 - Baldwin bye

Rd 5 - Baldwin vs. Ottawa (est time 11:15am)

Rd 6 - Baldwin vs. Louisburg (est time 1:00pm)

Rd 7 - Baldwin vs. Spring Hill (est time 2:15pm)

Presentation of Individual Placers & Team Champion Trophy


106: Jakob Johanning (B) wbforfeit

113: Levi Green (B) wbforfeit

120: TJ Hopper (B) wbforfeit

126: Griffin Wehrman (B) def. Kooper Loy (F), wbf

132: Ben Morgenstern (B) def. Noah Cleffman (F), wbf

138: Thomas Lisher (B) def. Brandon Mlekus (F), wbf

145: Dillon Roedel (F) def. Taylor Peters (B), wbf

152: Andrew Mays (F) def. Ben Ogle (B), wbf

160: Owen Tuckfield (B) def. Ethan Hess (F), dec

170: Wyatt Slavin (B) wbforfeit

182: Joel Katzer (B) wbforfeit

195: Jake Katzer (B) def. Kylan Dixon (F), wbf

220: Wyatt Parmley (B) def. Kyle Loy (F), 4-2

285: Alex Cigard (B) wbforfeit


106: Jakob Johanning (B) wbforfeit

113: Levi Green (B) wbforfeit

120: Griffin Wehrman (B) def. James Clement (O), wbf

126: Brendan Chrisjohn (O) def. Declan Smith (B), wbf

132: Ben Morgenstern (B) def. Cody Hazlett (O), dec

138: Thomas Lisher (B) def. Will Thompson (O), wbf

145: Tyler Chrisjohn (O) def. Ethan Temple (B), major dec

152: Jon Pratt (B) def. Daniel Dees (O), 2-0

160: Owen Tuckfield (B) def. John Diediker (O), dec

170: Andy Blanton (O) def. Wyatt Slavin (B), wbf

182: Justin Howard (B) def. Cole Wallace (O), wbf in OT

195: Jake Katzer (B) def. Seth Kingsolver (O), wbf

220: Gunther Wehrman (B) wbforfeit

285: Alex Cigard (B) wbforfeit


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.