Archive for Thursday, August 20, 2015

Baker Edition: Business professor honored with Kopke Award

August 20, 2015

Known for inspiring students inside and outside the classroom, Alan Grant in May was awarded Baker University’s prestigious Jennie Howell Kopke and Verda R. Kopke Award for Distinguished Teaching.

The award annually recognizes a Baker faculty member who has a record of excellence in teaching and in transforming students into scholars, who brings honor to the university, and who exhibits good moral character. Grant, entering his 10th year at Baker, also received a $5,000 award.

“It’s such an honor to be included in such a distinguished group of incredible teachers,” said Grant, professor of business and economics. “And it’s humbling, too, because I know how often I fall short of my own expectations in the classroom. I’m going to work hard in the future to feel deserving.”

Like all Baker faculty, Grant enjoys building relationships with the students.

“It’s such a fun and rewarding thing to watch students grow during their time at Baker, and then to stay connected and watch them build lives and families afterward,” he said. “I never expected that level of connection when I moved here, and it’s turned out to be the best thing about teaching at Baker.”

The Kopke award was established in 1998 by Charles Kopke, a longtime supporter of Baker. It is named in honor of his late mother, Jennie Howell Kopke, a 1921 Baker graduate, and his late wife, Verda.

Previous winners of the award are Karen Exon (1998), Anthony Brown (1999), Lee Green (2000), Rand Ziegler (2001), Inge Balch (2002), Darcy Russell (2003), Tracy Floreani (2004), John Richards (2005), Ryan Beasley (2006), J.D. Parr (2007), Cynthia Appl (2008), Cal Cink (2009), Jacob Bucher (2010), Martha Harris (2011), Susan Emel (2012), Sara Crump (2013) and Joe Watson (2014).


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.