Archive for Tuesday, May 27, 2014

Baldwin High School Class of 2014 honors, scholarships

May 27, 2014

Baker University Scholarships — Madeline McCrary: academic merit, volleyball, staff award; Cornell Brown: University Academic Award, Football Participation; Forrest Young: Academic Merit, Butell Scholarship, Scholarship Competition Award; Tucker Clark: Academic Merit, Wrestling, Butell Scholarship; Morgan Lober: Art Scholarship, Counts Scholarship, Wildcat Scholarship, Track Participation; Jacob Brungardt: Staff Award; and Cambry Lynch: Honor Scholarship

Baldwin Professional Women Scholarship—Brittnay George and Madeline McCrary

Lions Club Scholarship—Cassidy Markley

Friends of the Library Cathy Roberts Scholarship—Allison Waymire

Ivan & Margaret Boyd Scholarship—Corey Valentine & Gunther Wehrman

Anna and Lester Hey Scholarship—Cassidy Markley

Baldwin Community Theatre—Madeline Miley

LMH Auxiliary Scholarship—Allison Waymire

American Legion Boys State 2013/2014 Recognition: Boys State 2013 Ben Growcock, Grayson Langham, and Nate Clem; 2014 — Andrew (Drew) CheeK, Scott Cromer. Guenther Wehrman and John Mathews

Loyd Beeton Post 228 American Legion Citizenship Award—Nick Joslyn and Madeline McCrary

Altrusa International of Lawrence—Libby Verhaeghe

Lumberyard Arts Scholarship—Cassidy Markley

Curtis Coffman Memorial Scholarship – Lainey Rochester, Katleyn Johnson, Alexis Devers, Michael Burton, Katie Schwalm and Brittnay George

Richard and Mildred Allen Memorial — Jenna VonBargen

Rotary Club—Lainey Rochester

Baldwin Leadership Scholarship—Nick Joslyn and Madeline Miley

Merle Venable Scholarship— Madeline McCrary and Michael Burton

Daniel J. DeAno—Bella Villaca and Anna Nichols

U.S. Army All American Bowl Award Nominee—Christian Gaylord

Mary Lou and Leon Rockers Scholarship—Madeline McCrary & Cassidy Markley

Baldwin Education Association Scholarship—Nick Joslyn and Madeline Miley

Topeka Capital Journal All State Academic Award—Nick Joslyn

Dale Dennis Principal’s Leadership Award — Madeline McCrary

Exceptional Academic Performance on ACT—Nick Joslyn, Morgan Linder, Katie Schwalm

Danny and Willa Ellis Scholarship—Camryn McFarland

Business Scholarship (Natalie Moreau) — Katie Schwalm

Marine Corps: Most Distinguished Athlete Award— Morgan Lober and Chad Berg

Semper Fidalis Award for musical excellence—Cassidy Markley

Scholastic Excellence Award—Nick Joslyn

KSU College of Engineering Award—Nick Joslyn

Community Service Awards

GoldAward: Madeline McCrary, Allison Waymire

Bronze Award: Joshua Camarena, Quinn Twombly, Austin Quick, Ian Kirk, Brittnay George,, Luke Fursman, Tim Craig, Danielle Boline, Lacy Barrett,

Award of Excellence Recognition (Sportsmanship, Ethics & Integrity)— Raeanna Duncan & Ben Growcock

KSHSAA Citizenship Awards—Quinn Twombly & Madeline Miley

Kansas City Metro Scholar Athlete Award—Chad Berg

Student Council Leadership Scholarship—Madeline McCrary and Madeline Miley

Lawrence Journal World All Area-Academic Team Recognition—Nick Joslyn and Cassidy Markley

Other awards offered or awarded

Marlena Arjo — Dean’s Academic Scholarship at Southern Illinois University, Combined Ability Scholarship at Truman State University, Midwest Student Exchange Scholarship at Truman State University

Brenna Johnson — NROTC Naval Reserve Officer Training Corps

Madeline Miley — Baldwin Wallace University Residency Grant, Baldwin Wallace University Presidential Scholarship

Hailey Cope — Johnson County Community College-Softball

Camryn McFarland Pittsburgh State University Academic Achievement

Katie Jones — JCCC Basketball Scholarship

Cassidy Markley — KU Traditions Scholarship, KU Music Scholarship, KSU Most Outstanding Student Musician Award and KSU Foundation Scholarship

Anna Nichols — Crimson and Blue Scholarship at K.U.

Allison Waymire — Kansas Comprehensive Grant from Bethany College, Tuition Enhancement Waiver from Bethany College

Duncan Murray — Missouri University of Science & Technology Miner Alumni Scholarship, Missouri University of Science & Technology Out-Of-State Scholarship, Missouri University of Science and Technology Miner Scholarship

Nick Joslyn — Cowles Fellowship Scholarship at Simpson College, High Achievement Award at Eastern Illinois University, Kansas Governor’s Scholar, Sporting Kansas City’s “Sporting 22” Scholarship, National Youth Science Camp Award

Brittnay George — Fort Hays State University Achievement Award

Samantha Robinson — University of Kansas Traditions Scholarship, Department of Engineering Dean’s Scholarship, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Scholarship

Colton Stark — Fort Hays State City Silver Award

Ashton Temple — Fort Hays State City Silver Award

Katie Schwalm – KSU Foundation Scholarship, University of Alabama—Presidential Scholarship

Bradley Shields — KSU Activity Scholarship

Tyler Kapelle — Pratt Community College Rodeo Scholarship

State of Kansas Designated Scholars: (Average GPA = 3.90, Average ACT score of 30 or better)

Sophia Brich, Ben Growcock, Brenna Johnson, Nick Joslyn, Cassidy Markley, Madeline Miley, Samantha Robinson, Katie Schwalm and Robert Simpson

Honor Graduates: 3.5 to 3.79

Hailey Cope, Hannah Hutton, Lainey Rochester, Katie Schwalm, Aubrey Baughan, Russell Cloon, Raeanna Duncan, Brenna Johnson, Jenna Irey, Mara Waltz, Ethan Hartzell, Grayson Langham, Andrew Simpson, Colton Stark, Neil Dunn, Zachary Mersmann, Jenna VonBargen, Karina Steinke, Hailey Haskell, Morgan Lober, Danielle Boline , Tucker Clark, Brittnay George and Forrest Young

Honor With Distinction Graduates: Earned a 3.80 to 4.0 over 7 semesters

Ben Growcock, Nick Joslyn, Cassidy Markley, Madeline McCrary, Ashton Temple, Madeline Miley, Sophia Brich, Samantha Robinson, Cambry Lynch, Anna Nichols, Katie Jones, Libby Verhaeghe, Kate Quinlan, Michael Burton, Morgan Linder, Brad Shields, Chad Berg, Reese Randall and Allison Waymire


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.