Archive for Tuesday, April 22, 2014

Baker journalism students collect state, national honors

April 22, 2014

The Baker Orange newspaper and its accompanying website,, recently earned several state and national honors.

The print version of the Orange received a 2014 Apple Award from the College Media Association as the best newspaper among four-year schools with an enrollment under 5,000 students. Apple Award winners were announced in New York in mid-March. All colleges nationwide were eligible to enter.

On April 14 at the Kansas Collegiate Media spring conference in Wichita, Kan., won the All-Kansas Award from Kansas Collegiate Media as the top collegiate news website among all colleges in the state. This award waspresented in Wichita during KCM's spring conference. One judge's feedback noted that “this is an engaging, visually attractive site that delivers on its mission to provide relevant content to keep the university community informed while giving students practical mass media experience.”

The print version won the Kansas Collegiate Media’s All-Kansas Award as the topprivate-college newspaper in the state. One judge wrote that “several articles told a story beyond a simple interview. It's obvious the reporters have spent time with their subjects.”

Seniors Sara Bell and Tera Lyons serve as this year's editors. In addition to the group honors, Bell received $100 as runner-up for the four-year newspaper Journalist of the Year Award.

In individual KCM contests, Lyons led Baker by placing first in three categories: illustration, photo essay and feature photography. She also placed second in page design, ad design and sports photography. Bell had two separate entries that took first and second place in sports writing.

Other Baker students who earned individual honors:

Freshman Chad Phillips, Wichita — first in sports photography; second in newsphotography.

Sophomore Taylor Schley, Topeka — first in infographics.

Junior Lauren Bechard, Gardner — second in sports feature writing; second in column writing; third in feature writing.

Senior Jenna Stanbrough, Emporia — second in feature writing; second in news writing.

Junior Abbey Elsbernd, Andover — second in illustration.

Senior Callie Paquette, Ottawa, and sophomore Jordan Ratterman, Overland Park — second in photo essay.

Sophomore Jordan Ratterman, Overland Park — third in feature photography.

Senior Katie Thurbon, Topeka — third in news writing.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.