Archive for Friday, January 13, 2012

Closed Baldwin district school among those receiving governor’s recognition

January 13, 2012

TOPEKA – Forty-three Kansas elementary schools, 11 middle/junior high schools and 18 high schools were recently recognized as part of the fifth annual Governor’s Achievement Awards, honoring top performing schools in the state.

To receive this prestigious award, schools must have achieved the Standard of Excellence in both reading and mathematics for 2011. Additionally, the school must have made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) in both reading and mathematics and one additional measure in 2011. For elementary schools and middle/junior high schools the additional AYP measure is attendance and for high schools the measure is graduation rate. Additionally, the school must have been among the top 5 percent of schools in both reading and mathematics on the 2011 state assessments at its respective level, i.e. elementary schools, middle/junior high schools, or high schools.

“The Governor’s Achievement Award is a significant recognition for Kansas schools,” said Kansas Education Commissioner Dr. Diane DeBacker. “The accomplishment recognizes a school’s high expectations and the ability of the school staff to assist students in achieving to those expectations.”

Schools receiving this award are as follows:


Blue River Elementary, USD 229 Blue Valley

Broken Arrow Elementary, USD 497 Lawrence

Claflin Elementary School, USD 112 Central Plains

Edgerton Elementary, USD 231 Gardner/Edgerton

Edna Elementary, USD 506 Labette County

Ellsworth Elementary, USD 327 Ellsworth

Fort Riley Elementary, USD 475 Geary County

Frankfort Elementary, USD 380 Vermillion

Garfield Elementary, USD 402 Augusta

Goessel Elementary, USD 411 Goessel

Grinnell Grade School, USD 291 Grinnell

Haviland Elementary, USD 474 Haviland

Heartland Elementary, USD 229 Blue Valley

Holy Name Catholic Elementary, Coffeyville, Wichita Diocese

Jay Shideler Elementary, USD 437 Auburn Washburn

Kathryn O’Loughlin McCarthy Elementary, USD 489 Hays

Lakeside Elementary at Downs, USD 272 Waconda

Lakeside Intermediate School, USD 272 Waconda

Lakewood Elementary, USD 229 Blue Valley

Linn Elementary, USD 223 Barnes

MacArthur Elementary, USD 480 Liberal

Marais Des Cygnes Valley Elementary, USD 456 Marais Des Cygnes Valley

Marion Springs Elementary, USD 348 Baldwin City

McKinley Elementary, USD 257 Iola

Mont Ida Elementary, USD 365 Garnett

Oatville Elementary, USD 261 Haysville

Oxford Elementary, USD 358 Oxford

Prairie Creek Elementary, USD 230 Spring Hill

Prairie Elementary, USD 512 Shawnee Mission

Sheridan Elementary, USD 475 Geary County

St. Ann Elementary, Kansas City Catholic Diocese

St. Benedict Elementary, USD 451 Baileyville/St. Benedict

St. Joseph Catholic Elementary, Mount Hope, Wichita Diocese

St. Joseph Elementary, Ellinwood, Salina Diocese

St. Patrick Catholic Elementary, Kingman, Wichita Diocese

Stilwell Elementary, USD 229 Blue Valley

Sunflower Elementary, USD 231 Gardner/Edgerton

Sunset Ridge Elementary, USD 229 Blue Valley

Tipton Community School, USD 272 Waconda

Trinity Lutheran Elementary, Winfield

Union Valley Elementary, USD 313 Buhler

Wellington Christian Academy, Wellington

Wheatland Elementary School, USD 292 Wheatland


Andover Central Middle School, USD 385 Andover

Flinthills Middle School, USD 492 Flinthills

Herington Middle School, USD 487 Herington

Kennedy Middle School, USD 489 Hays

Lexington Trails Middle School, USD 232 DeSoto

Louisburg Middle School, USD 416 Louisburg

Pioneer Ridge Middle School, USD 231 Gardner/Edgerton

Pleasant Ridge Middle School, USD 229 Blue Valley

Prairie Heights Middle School, USD 417 Morris County

Prairie Star Middle School, USD 229 Blue Valley

Sabetha Middle School, USD 113 Prairie Hills


Basehor-Linwood High School, USD 458 Basehor-Linwood

Centralia High School, USD 380 Vermillion

Claflin Junior/Senior High School, USD 112 Central Plains

Clifton-Clyde Senior High School, USD 224 Clifton-Clyde

Conway Springs High School, USD 356 Conway Springs

Frankfort High School, USD 380 Vermillion

Garden Plain High School, USD 267 Renwick

Glasco High School, USD 334 Southern Cloud

Hanover High School, USD 223 Barnes

Lakemary Center Paola, Paola

Lakin High School, USD 215 Lakin

Louisburg High School, USD 416 Louisburg

Northern Heights High School, USD 251 North Lyon County

Pawnee Heights High School, USD 496 Pawnee Heights

Silver Lake Junior/Senior High School, USD 372 Silver Lake

St. Thomas Aquinas High School, Kansas City Catholic Diocese

Tipton High School, Salina Catholic Diocese

Weskan High School, USD 242 Weskan


greyghost 6 years, 9 months ago

Way to go MSES students, teachers, parents, and staff!


Commenting has been disabled for this item.