Archive for Thursday, March 31, 2011

Four Bulldogs named to all-league basketball teams

March 31, 2011

Four Baldwin High School basketball players were honored by the Frontier League coaches for their seasons.

Senior Ramie Burkhart was the only Bulldog to make the first-team all-league. She was joined by Jordan Baldwin (Ottawa), Jamie Hodge (Spring Hill), Erika Simpson (Spring Hill) and Shelbi Petty (De Soto).

Leading the way for the BHS boys team was senior Justin Vander Tuig. He was chosen on the second-team all-league.

The boys’ first-team players were Semi Ojeyele (Ottawa), Adam Hasty (Ottawa), Mason Wedel (De Soto), Nick Wilson (Paola) and David Embers (Louisburg).

“I thought Justin had a tremendous year,” coach Eric Toot said. “What people don’t realize is the defensive impact he has on the game and how a lot of defensive game plan was built around him protecting around the rim and rebounding. That helped stretch our defense out.

“I thought he was probably a first-team player, but no complaints about being the sixth-best player in our league,” he said. “There is some tremendous talent in our league. He had a rock-solid year. I was just proud of him all year in practice and games.”

Senior Allison Howard was also named to the second-team all-league. She joined Burkhart on the girls’ squad. Also on the second-team were Annie Kessler (Paola), Ashley Gorman (De Soto), Maggie Bones (Ottawa) and Courtney Swope (Spring Hill).

“Ramie and Allison are both very deserving of being named all-league,” coach Bob Martin said. “They've been two of the best players in the Frontier League for the past two years. They were a big part of the success we have had. I'm very pleased the Frontier League chose to honor them.”

The girls earning honorable mention were Marissa Mackey (Louisburg), Courtney Johnson (Paola), Katie Gorman (De Soto), Brook Frazier (Louisburg) and Alexis Roecker (Ottawa).

BHS boys freshman Cornell Brown was the fourth Bulldog honored this winter. He was named honorable mention all-league.

“I thought Cornell had a tremendous year as a freshman,” Toot said. “We put a lot of pressure on him playing point guard at our level. For a freshman, that’s not an easy thing to do. We have two of the best point guards in the state in our league in Mason Wedel and Adam Hasty. I think he can reach that level and be that type of player. The league coaches recognized his talent this year.”

The players on the boys second-team all-league were Vander Tuig, Travis Hayes (Paola), Andrew Ballock (Eudora), Garrett Griffin (Louisburg) and Austin Miller (Spring Hill). The other honorable mention players were Aaron Nutterfield (De Soto), Joey Johnson (De Soto), Brady Donahue (Spring Hill) and Dallas Natt (Ottawa).


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.