Archive for Thursday, July 30, 2009

Health department vaccination program ends Friday

July 30, 2009

LAWRENCE — The Lawrence-Douglas County Health Department urges Douglas County families with school-aged children to get vaccinated now for back-to-school immunizations.

The department is offering a limited program that will provide the Tdap vaccine (Tetanus, Diphtheria and Pertussis) to Douglas County children whose birthdays fall between Sept. 1, 1997, and Aug. 31, 1998. There is a $14 administrative fee, but no one is denied service because of the inability to pay.

The program ends July 31, so parents are urged to come to the Health Department as soon as possible. Getting Tdap at age 11 rather than 15 is new for students entering Kansas schools for the 2009-2010 school year.

Other changes for the 2009-2010 school year are:

• Kindergarten students must have two varicella (chicken pox) vaccines in addition to the previously required Dtap, IPV (Inactivated Polio Vaccine), MMR (Measles, Mumps and Rubella) and Hepatitis B.

• Students through grade 9 must have three Hepatitis B vaccines and one varicella vaccine unless a written note from their doctor states that the child has had varicella disease.

Other recommended vaccines are also available at the Health Department. For hours and more information, go to the Web site at www.ldchealth. Org.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.