Archive for Thursday, September 11, 2008

BHS girls place second at first meet

September 11, 2008

The season has officially started for the Baldwin High School varsity cross country girls' team.

After placing second at last week's Anderson County Invitational, the team is determined to do better.

"Anderson County was definitely not our best meet and we're going to be trying really hard to beat De Soto," senior Corinna Papps said.

Senior Calleigh Durr agreed with Papps that the girls could have done better.

"We didn't come to run on Thursday," Durr said. "We definitely need to improve if we want to be the best in the state."

De Soto won the team title with 20 points. Baldwin finished runner-up with 40 points. In the Class 4A preseason poll, Baldwin was No. 1 and De Soto was No. 2.

Papps led the way for the Bulldogs finishing in a time of 16:25. She placed fourth in the race. Following her were junior Connor Twombly (seventh, 16:59), Durr (eighth, 17:01), junior Julie Hill (10th, 17:18), sophomore Heather Karlin (11th, 17:39), sophomore Sarah Whaley (20th, 18:55) and senior Hannah Sigvaldson (27th, 19:27).

" I though the girls ran great," coach Mike Spielman said. "We needed to see where we were and we now know what to work on."

Sigvaldson is also looking to improve.

"I didn't do as well as I hoped," Sigvaldson said. "We now know what needs to be done."

On the junior varsity side, freshman Elizabeth Sigvaldson won the race in a time of 18:06.81. Fellow freshman Abi Hartzell finished second, running 18:10.09. Junior Misty Emery was fourth as she ran 18:54.50.

The next meet will be held on Saturday at Wamego, which will be the host to 19 teams. It's an important meet, because it is the location for the state race on Nov. 1.

"We hope to do well at Wamego, because it will help us see where we stack up against some of the top competition in the state," Durr said.

Varsity girls

4. Corinna Papps, 16:25.55

7. Connor Twombly, 16:59.01

8. Calleigh Durr, 17:01.67

10. Julie Hill, 17:18.48

11. Heather Karlin, 17:39.14

20. Sarah Whaley, 18:55.74

27. Hannah Sigvaldson, 19:27.93

Junior Varsity girls

1. Elizabeth Sigvaldson, 18:06.81

2. Abi Hartzell, 18:10.09

4. Misty Emery, 18:54.50

13. Carol Whaley, 21:01.84

14. JaBryanna Wellington, 21:02.50


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.