Archive for Thursday, October 9, 2008

Class 4A regional sites announced

October 9, 2008

Baldwin High School sports fans won’t have to travel too far to watch their respective teams’ postseason action.

The Kansas State High School Athletics Association announced the Class 4A regional sites last week for the fall season. The volleyball and cross country teams participate in their regional or sub-state contests on Oct. 25. The BHS soccer team will play its first regional game on Oct. 28.

The BHS volleyball squad will travel to Paola to play its sub-state tournament. The other teams participating are Santa Fe Trail, St. James Academy, Louisburg, Osawatomie, Ottawa, Paola and Spring Hill. Pairings won’t be announced until a couple of days before the tournament.

“Our tournament is stacked with some great 4A teams,” volleyball coach Kelly Brown said. “In our matches against St. James, there were times we thought the ball would drop after a block, or we'd get a kill from a seal in the block being open, but it didn't happen. They don't let the ball hit the floor. This year St. James is out for the title.”

On the same day the volleyball squad plays, the BHS cross country teams will run at their regional meet. De Soto is the host school, but the meet will be held at Wyandotte County Park, which is located just west of the Kansas Speedway and Village West near I-70. The girls will start at 3 p.m. with the boys to follow at 4 p.m.

The other schools running will be Basehor-Linwood, De Soto, Eudora, Kansas City-Bishop Ward, Kansas City-Piper, Kansas City-Sumner Academy, Prairie View, St. James Academy, Louisburg, Osawatomie, Ottawa, Paola, Spring Hill and Tonganoxie.

“It will be very competitive,” BHS coach Mike Spielman said. “So as long as we get in there and mix it up, we have a good chance of getting qualified. It will be a good test for us.”

The BHS soccer team will begin its postseason action on Sept. 28 with the first round of its regional tournament. The times and locations of the tournament have yet to be announced.

The teams in Baldwin’s tournament are Coffeyville-Field Kindley, Columbus, Fort Scott, Independence, Louisburg, Ottawa, Paola, Riverton and Spring Hill.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.