Archive for Wednesday, October 1, 2008

District Judge Murphy to retire in January

October 1, 2008

Douglas County District Judge Jack Murphy will retire Jan. 12, the state office of judicial administration announced Wednesday morning.

Murphy did not file for retention in this year's election and instead decided to step down from the bench, the office said. District court judges must file for retention every four years, in order to stay on the bench.

The 64-year-old judge was appointed by then-Gov. Joan Finney in June 1994. He succeeded Judge James W. Paddock. Previously, Murphy was a Baldwin City attorney.

A seven-member nominating commission is asking for the public's help in identifying candidates to fill Murphy's 7th judicial district seat, said Ron Keefover, spokesman for the state's judicial information office. The commission will select two or three nominees and submit them to Governor Kathleen Sebelius, who will appoint one of them as the replacement.

“All of the citizens of (Douglas County) are requested to consider this matter, and the names of suggested nominees submitted by the general public will be welcomed by the commission,” Supreme Court Justice Eric S. Rosen, departmental chair for the 7th District, said in a news release issued Wednesday morning.

Candidates are required to be a resident of Douglas County, at least 30 years of age, must have been in active law practice for at least five years, and must be able to practice law in Kansas, Keefover said.

Nominees should complete a questionnaire and return it by noon Oct. 23, to Justice Eric Rosen, Kansas Supreme Court, 301 SW 10th Avenue, Topeka, KS 66612. The forms are available from the Douglas County district court clerk, or at at their Web site. Every attorney in the county has been mailed a notice of the vacant position.

The commission will meet at 9 a.m. Nov. 12, in the Douglas County Judicial and Law Enforcement Center to interview suggested nominees. That meeting will be open to the public.

The nominating commission includes Edward Collister, Jr., John Nitcher, Janine Cox, Robert Maynard, Charles Epp and Kurt Von Achen. Rosen is the non-voting chairman of the commission.


Stacy Napier 9 years, 8 months ago

Well some info about how or where to nominate a person would be helpfull!


Commenting has been disabled for this item.