Archive for Wednesday, March 12, 2008

Senior duo selected to all-league teams

March 12, 2008

Drew Berg and Colby Heckathorne were recognized by opposing coaches for their outstanding basketball seasons.

Both Baldwin High School seniors were recently named to the All-Frontier League teams for the 2007-2008 season. It is an honor that is voted on by the other seven league coaches.

Berg was chosen as one of the five players on the first team. Heckathorne was selected to the second team. No other Bulldogs were chosen on either lists.

Berg helped lead the boys' team to a 17-5 record, which included a second-straight Baldwin Invitational Tournament and a No. 1 seed in sub-state. Berg averaged 15.5 points and 6.6 rebounds per game during the season.

He shot 53 percent from two-point range, 33 percent on three-pointers and 79 percent from the free throw line. Berg led the Bulldogs in all three categories.

"Drew is very deserving of the honor," BHS boys' coach Eric Toot said. "He had a tremendous year. He hit a lot of big shots for us and it's great to see him get some individual recognition for that."

Heckathorne led the BHS girls' team as the point guard to a 10-11 record. She helped the Bulldogs place third in the Top Gun Tournament. Heckathorne averaged 7.7 points per contest this season, while averaging 2.9 assists and 2.4 steals per game.

"It was a very tough league," BHS girls' coach Bob Martin said. "She's been a really good player for us all four years. A lot of time I don't think her stats really show what she meant to this team. She has been a great leader for us. She is very well deserving of this.

"During the last half of the year, I thought she was the best point guard in the league," Martin said. "She really competed and stepped up and led our team late in the season."

For the All-League selections, each of the eight head coaches votes for 10 players not on his or her team. Each player is ranked one through 10 and given points for their ranking. The five players with the most points are chosen on the first team, while the next five are selected to the second team. To be honorable mention, a player must be listed on two coach's ballots.

Joining Berg on the boys' first team are Jacob Sipple (Ottawa), Andre Linzy (De Soto), Jordan Embers (Louisburg) and Bubba Starling (Gardner-Edgerton).

The boys' second team consists of Jason Spradling (Louisburg), Ian Mathews (Ottawa), Jamal Townsend (De Soto), Matt Leal (Spring Hill) and Brandon Turner (Ottawa).

The five girls on the first team are Emily Ballock (Eudora), Rachel Hanf (Paola), Kara McFarland (Ottawa), Ciarra Washington (Gardner) and Jennifer House Spring Hill.

Along with Heckathorne, Katelynn O'Hara (Louisburg), Haley Epperson (Eudora), Lindsay Stacks (Louisburg) and Barbara Hartz (De Soto) were also named to the second team.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.