Archive for Thursday, August 16, 2007

Winters to be cooler in district schools

August 16, 2007

Baldwin School District children may want to dress slightly warmer for school when winter rolls around.

On Monday, the Baldwin School Board approved a new policy to conserve energy and save money. That policy will drop the room temperature in the buildings to 68 degrees this winter.

"Our biggest issue is that our heating and electric bills are pretty high," Supt. Paul Dorathy said Tuesday. "I feel like we can do a better job on those. I think we are going to try and educate our employees on better use of our heating and electricity within the district. The board felt like it was time to set some parameters."

The policy was discussed because the board is trying to find ways to save money and energy. One way was to cut back on heating and cooling expenses.

"Our main thing is trying to save some money," Dorathy said. "That money can then be used for other programs, rather than heating and electricity."

The motion to set the temperature at 68 degrees passed with a 6-1 vote. Board Member Scott Lauridsen opposed the vote. Lauridsen and Board Member Ande Parks made a motion to decrease the temperature to 70 degrees, but the motion didn't have enough support.

During last school year, the temperature was set at 74 degrees in the buildings. Lauridsen and Parks wanted a slight decrease this year, but didn't have the support.

"I think it's better just to ease into it than to jump right into it," Parks said. "I'm not sure we want parents asking why their kids are always freezing."

Dorathy and the board wanted to let district patrons and staff know that the buildings will be slightly cooler this winter.

"I think it's important for parents and staff to know that this winter might require staff and students to wear sweatshirts and sweaters," Dorathy said. "It's going to be cooler. That's the federal number for heat in the winter time, so we're going to do that."

The energy policy was one of several policies that the school board updated Monday. The board also approved 12 policy recommendations from the Kansas Association of School Boards with a 7-0 vote.

Other items that were approved Monday were various bid items, along with the proposed 2007-2008 budget.

During Monday's meeting, the board had its annual budget hearing for this year's budget. Cyndi Frick, director of financial operations, and Dorathy explained the budget to the board.

After the brief summary, the board approved the budget unanimously. The proposed operating budget will be $8,402,891.

After approving the budget, the board resumed it normal meeting. With three unanimous votes, the board approved the milk, propane and bread bids.

Meadow Gold was chosen for the milk bid, Neosho Valley Energy received the propane bid and Sara Lee was again selected for the bread bid.

"We've got to do those bids every year," Dorathy said. "For the most part, it's always routine. We have to bid out all of those things."

The school board will be having a special meeting with the building administrators next week. It will begin at 6:30 p.m. Wednesday at the District Office. The topics that will be discussed will be organizational chart, instructional leadership and attendance boundaries.

The next regular board meeting will be at 7 p.m. Sept. 10 at the District Office.

The board also approved the personnel report Monday. It included the resignations of Amanda Piken (Marion Springs Elementary School 4-year old program Instructor), Nanette Kraus (Baldwin High School Accompanist) Jason Crowder, (BHS Golf Coach) and Michelle Kirk (BHS Musical Assistant).

The personnel hirings were: Jane Miller (Baldwin Elementary School Intermediate Center Student Council Advisor), Donna Reed (BESIC QPA Co-Chair), April Kohrs (BESIC QPA Co-Chair), Carolyn Stansberry (BESIC Target Area Chair), Marilyn Fischer (BESIC Target Area Chair), Kathy Dorsey (BESIC Target Area Chair), Susie Martin (Baldwin Junior High School Assistant Volleyball Coach), Brock Hartshorn (BHS Assistant Football Coach), Kim Callahan (BJHS/BHS Concessions Coordinator), Joe Sample (BHS Assistant Football), Morgan Norwood (BJHS Cheer Sponsor), Jo Doerr (MSES 4-year old program Instructor), Carol Niehues (BHS Food Service), Art Cederholm (BHS Evening Custodian), Dennis Hollinger (BJHS Seventh Grade Science Instructor), Sue Schmidt (Baldwin Elementary School Primary Center Certified Para-Professional-Math Resource Room), Veronica Able (Vinland Elementary School QPA Co-Chair), Alica Thomas (VES QPA Co-Chair), Loretta Verhaeghe (VES Target Area Chair), Susan Case (VES Target Area Chair), Marcia O'Neil (BESPC Student Council Sponsor), Lori Krysztof (BESPC Student Council Sponsor), Cecilia Boyne-Schuh (BESPC QPA Co-Chair), Debbie Wallace (BESPC QPA Co-Chair), Rhonda Hitchcock (BESPC Target Area Chair), Katherine Cook (BHS QPA Building Chair), Eric Toot (BJHS Intramural Volleyball), Kit Harris (BJHS Intramural Wrestling) and Beth Smith (BJHS Vocal Music).

Commenting has been disabled for this item.