Archive for Thursday, October 20, 2005

BHS boys win 11th straight league title

October 20, 2005

The streak began a decade ago when the Baldwin High School boys cross country team won the Frontier League title in 1995, and every year since then the outcome has been the same.
The Bulldogs ran Thursday at Rim Rock Farm. The team easily won with a score of 34 points, 55 ahead of the second-place team, Louisburg, with 89 points.
The top placer for the Bulldogs was junior Chris Elniff who placed second overall. Right behind Elniff was senior Grant Catloth who placed third at his last league meet.
"I felt the team ran great," Catloth said. "I wouldn't have gone out any other way."
At the meet, the entire junior varsity and varsity teams ran together, but only the top seven runners counted as the team. The top seven runners all placed in the top 30 out of 132 total participants.
Senior Spencer Wilson was pleased with the way everyone placed.
"I think everybody ran really well at league," Wilson said. "It was really cool to have so many people place in the top 30."
Now that the Bulldogs have achieved their goal of winning league, they look on towards the regional meet set for Saturday in Labette County. The team is looking forward to a change in scenery, but not the distance away from home.
"I am kind of bummed about regionals because it is really far away, but I think the team is really shaping up and we will be able to run really well," Wilson said.
The regional meet will have fifteen teams fighting for a chance to compete at the state meet. The teams will vary from those of southeast Kansas and also others from the Frontier League.
Only the top three teams, along with individuals placing in the top 10 and the top five runners not on a qualifying team will go to the Class 4A state meet in Wamego on October 29.
Coach Mike Spielman knows his team should place in the top three with El Dorado, Girard and Louisburg competing for a chance also.
Baldwin will be sending their top eight runners from league as their team.

Frontier League Results
2. Chris Elniff, 17:07
3. Grant Catloth, 17:20
5. Keith Cowart, 17:24
10. Caj Kueffer, 17:39
14. Spencer Wilson, 17:56
16. Aaron Karlin, 17:57
28. Nathan Dick, 18:45
32. Alex Johnson, 18:50
41. Paul Minor, 19:22
52. Brad Canterbury, 19:43
61. Noah Hoelscher, 20:18
67. Michael Thurlow, 20:29
72. Blake Shields, 20:36
85. Ryan Reeves, 21:02
100. Josh Times, 21:47
104. Alex Coffey, 21:58
110. Shawn Rowland, 22:20
115. Sam Pippert, 22:36

Commenting has been disabled for this item.