Archive for Wednesday, April 6, 2005

Election results are unofficially in

April 6, 2005

Incumbents winning re-election were council members Tony Brown and Amy Cleavinger and school board members Lonnie Broers and Ande Parks. Gary Walbridge defeated incumbent Mayor Ken Hayes and Ruth Barkley ousted incumbent board member Chip Hornberger.

Poll workers at various sites around Baldwin reported good turnouts today. At the fire station poll in downtown Baldwin, there were already 80 voters who had marked ballots by 9 a.m., twice the total amount that voted there in the primary election. There was a steady stream of voters throughout the day.

Similar reports were received from other polling sites. Douglas County Clerk Jamie Shew was predicting a strong turnout heading into the election because of school board and council positions, as well as the amendment.

Baldwin Results:

Ken Hayes (I) 328
Gary Walbridge 533

City Council
Top-two finishers gain council seats
Amy Cleavinger (I) 524
Doyle Jardon 424
Jason Mock 248
John Frazier 169 (withdrew from race, but was still on the ballot)

City Council
Tony Brown (I) 728

School Board
Position No. 2
Lonnie Broers (I) 1,139
David Norris 454

Position No. 4
Ruth Barkley 922
Chip Hornberger (I) 680

Position No. 5
Bill Busby 1,363

Position No. 6
Jay Hundley 620
Ande Parks (I) 793

Commenting has been disabled for this item.