Archive for Thursday, May 27, 2004

Baker football captains selected

May 27, 2004

The Baker University football team announced its leaders for the 2004 season today. Ten captains and a nine-member player's council were selected.

Returning players chose the captains during a team meeting. All players, regardless of year in school, were eligible. The following 10 players, all seniors, were named captains: defensive back Silas Dulan of Oklahoma City; linebacker Jeff Frenya of Lawrence; wide receiver Keenan Ganz of Ozark, Mo.; punter Karl Halamicek of Lucerne Valley, Calif.; linebacker Tyler Hibler of Bates City, Mo.; offensive lineman Chance Nichols of Palestine, Texas; defensive back Blake Pearson of Valley Center; running back John Reeves of Palestine, Texas; running back Gerrad Speer of Scott City; and defensive lineman Luke Thompson of Olathe.

The team also elected members of the player's council at the meeting. Each class chose its own representatives. Four seniors, three juniors, two sophomores and a freshman comprise the council. The seniors selected were tight end Justin Bloomer of Wichita, offensive lineman Nick Codutti of Springfield, Mo., running back Raymond Pruitt of Little Rock, Ark., and offensive lineman Kevin Sullivan of Wichita. The juniors selected were wide receiver Josh Buford of Alma, Mo., linebacker Jeremiah Gress of Lawrence, and linebacker Wes Guilkey of Lawson, Mo. The sophomores selected were running back Frank Owens of Dallas and quarterback Tanner Purdum of Ava, Mo. A freshman representative will be chosen after players report for fall practice.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.