Archive for Wednesday, August 6, 2003

Lauridsen wins Baldwin Open crown again

August 6, 2003

It was deja vu all over again at the Baldwin Open Golf Tournament Sunday.

Temperatures were hot, just like last year. And, when the 49 entrants for the 53rd annual tourney finished, Scott Lauridsen was again the champion -- just like last year.

Sunday started off with a rain shower, but temperatures soon climbed into the 90s like last year.

"Having the shower in the morning made it humid," said Marvin Jardon, tournament organizer. "I don't know that it was any worse, temperature wise, than last year. I think maybe the heat affected some of our swings. We had plenty of water out on the course, though.

"The heat this year cut our grass down," said Jardon. "Even the roughs had lesser degrees of thickness. It was fun. It always is. We had our barbecue as usual, which everyone likes."

Of course, no one likes the open tournament more than Lauridsen as evident by his back-to-back Championship Flight titles. But, he didn't do quite as well as last year, firing a 5-under-par 65, compared to last year's 62.

Jardon had tongue-in-cheek comments about that.

"I really expected more out of Scott this year," he said. "He bought an electric cart this year and I thought he'd have a lower score. He's also been practicing every week by playing in our men's league every Wednesday night."

But, maybe that practice didn't help on the sand greens. They were changed slightly before Sunday's tournament.

"We reoiled the sand, so it was putting a little differently," said Jardon. "Everyone was having trouble with them. It did change it a little bit."

He also said that Lauridsen will have a shot next year at a third straight title. There are no stipulations as to how many times a player can win.

"Oh, no, we don't have that," he said. "Bruce Neuenswander was tied with him going into the final hole, but went out of bounds, so he's got some competition.

"We'll try to have someone that can beat him next year, but he can come back and try," said Jardon.

There was a tie for second place in the Championship Flight between Matt Grammer and Bob Burkhart, who both shot 69s. Winning the A Flight was Rodney Gilges with a 75.

The B Flight winner was Dale Johnson with a 78. Dave McCrary won the C Flight with an 85 and Mike Kingsley won the D Flight with an 88.

Burkhart won the Longest Drive Contest. Vernon Christian and Bruce Neuenswander were the winners of the Closest to the Pin contests on the par 3 holes.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.