Archive for Wednesday, October 30, 2002

BHS boys state-bound again

October 30, 2002

As one Bulldog finished after another, it was obvious the Baldwin High School boys cross country team had won the Class 4A regional title ... yet another time.

It is the sixth consecutive regional title for the Bulldogs, and it was in dominating fashion. The second place team, Tonganoxie, had a score of 55 ... 28 points behind the No. 1 state-ranked Bulldogs. BHS has won four straight Class 4A titles.

The first runner for BHS was sophomore Zac Towns, taking second overall in a time of 16:36. Following one second behind was freshman Keith Cowart in third (16:37.32), followed by junior Phil Wagner in fifth (16:49.81), sophomore Brian Gerstner in seventh (16:54.44), junior Edd Stansberry in 11th (17:15.33), sophomore Jonathan Strong in 12th (17:16.01) and sophomore Sam Hinton in 13th (17:16.54), all placing before some teams' first runners.

"I thought they ran well against the top teams," said coach Mike Spielman, "such as Tonganoxie and Mill Valley."

Behind BHS, Tonganoxie is the 4A's second-ranked team, with Mill Valley ranked fifth.

"I feel that we did really good," said Cowart. "I'm really nervous for state. It'll be a good experience."

Many of the teams members have set high goals this season for themselves and for the team. They have accomplished most of them, including keeping the tradition of winning league, regionals and going to state, improving personal times and simply having a great season.

"One of my goals was just to go to state. I am hoping to place in the top 20," said Hinton, a first-year varsity runner.

"Our goal for state is to have fun, run well and to win state," said Spielman.

BHS has been ranked as one of the top teams in the state the entire season. The new rankings will be out Wednesday.

The Bulldogs will leave Friday evening for their traditional pre-meet meal in Topeka and stay the night at a Days Inn in Manhattan. The state meet will be taking place at Wamego's country club golf course. The boys race is at 9 a.m. and the girls will run at 10 a.m.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.