Archive for Wednesday, November 20, 2002

Honors, like titles, roll in for BHS runners

November 20, 2002

Every year about this time, Baldwin High School has another state cross country title and the post-season accolades start piling up like the leaves outside.

This year is no exception, except this year BHS claimed both the boys and girls Class 4A state titles at Wamego. And likewise, there are even more post-season honors.

The Lawrence Journal-World announced its all-area cross country teams Sunday and there were three BHS Bulldogs on each squad. Phil Wagner, Keith Cowart and Zac Towns made the boys team, while Erica Ogle, Denise Orloff and Abby Hofmeier made the girls team.

And, surprise, surprise, the coach of the year honor went to BHS's Mike Spielman.

"We've always been excited about how well we've placed at state," said Spielman. "But, both of them winning made it a perfect season."

It was the fifth-straight title for the boys and the first-ever for the girls. It marked the first time since 1990 when Topeka Hayden took both titles that a school has won both.

Wagner, a junior, had BHS's top finish at state with a 13th-place showing. Cowart, just a freshman, finished 22nd and Towns, a sophomore, was right behind in 23rd. BHS had all seven runners in the top 34 to win the title. That's how the Bulldogs did it all year running in a pack.

Ogle, a junior, led the girls at state with a fourth-place finish. Orloff, also just a freshman, was seventh and Hofmeier, a senior, was 25th.

All six runners were all-Frontier League selections.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.