Archive for Wednesday, September 20, 2000

Debate team places

September 20, 2000

Baldwin High School's debate team started the season off with a bang with a second-place showing just a point out of first at the Leavenworth Invitational Saturday.

BHS tied first-place Tonganoxie record wise with both teams finishing 12-3 in the sweepstakes competition. However, Tonganoxie edged Baldwin in speaker points, the deciding factor, by the narrowest of margins, 60-59. There were 16 teams entered in the all-day tournament which featured teams from Class 6A on down.

Baldwin also had three teams in the top 10, with the team of Jeff Wagner and Brett Myrick winning a medal in eighth place. Along with the Wagner-Myrick team, BHS teams of Chris Eichhorn and Tyler Inzer and Adam Halford and Daniel Musgrave all went 4-1 on the day. Speaker points again determined placings, with Eichhorn-Inzer edging Halford-Musgrave for ninth.

Also debating for BHS were Anna Skaggs, Anthony Myrick, Jeremy Ferguson, Tony Zuzzio, Amanda Brandenberg and Dennis Craig. Some of the debaters will again be in action Saturday in another tournament.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.