Archive for Wednesday, May 3, 2000

BHS basketball awards are announced

May 3, 2000

Baldwin High School basketball coach Bobby Taul brought his squad together Sunday to recognize the team for its accomplishments this year. A third-place finish at the state tournament was at the top of the list.

But, there was more, much more, as Taul handed out numerous individual honors in addition to the team hardware. One award that he made on his own was presenting medals to the varsity squad for their first-place finish in the Frontier League. The league doesn't award medals, but Taul thought they deserved them so he bought them himself.

It was an important part of the season which culminated with the sub-state championship and third-place showing at state. All three accomplishments were steps along the path of establishing a BHS basketball tradition.

"I'll be honest with you," Taul told the crowd gathered in the BHS cafeteria. "We were a year ahead of schedule. I wanted to make it to state this year. We did better than that."

He urged the underclassmen not to let up, to work hard in the off season and do even better next year. He lauded the seniors for what they'd accomplished and thanked them for their efforts.

As for the individual awards for varsity, they went to: senior Joe Kivett, Mr. Hustle and Defensive Player of the Year; junior Ben Cosman, Player of the Year and Offensive Player of the Year; senior Blake Regnier, Most Improved Player; and senior Colin Barker, Most Inspirational Player and winner of the "Stick Man" Award.

For the junior varsity, awards went to: sophomore Eric Black, Mr. Hustle; sophomore Hugh Murphy, Player of the Year and Offensive Player of the Year; junior Tony Zuzzio, Defensive Player of the Year; sophomore Eric Black, Most Improved Player; and Brett Myrick, Most Inspirational Player.

For the freshmen, awards went to: Curtis Thomas, Mr. Hustle; Brian Lauridsen, Offensive Player of the Year; Kyler Troth, Defensive Player of the Year; Stephen Jeffries, Most Improved Player; and Joe Gipp, Most Inspirational and Player of the Year.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.