Archive for Wednesday, April 19, 2000

Signal shines at KPA awards

April 19, 2000

The Baldwin City Signal brought home a wealth of plaques and other awards from the Kansas Press Association's annual meeting in Topeka Saturday.

The Signal staff won six first-place awards, seven seconds, three thirds and two honorable mentions. It was the first year of competition for the Signal, which began publishing March 3, 1999.

"To be chosen by your peers for these awards means a great deal," said Jeff Myrick, Signal editor/publisher. "We started the Signal with the idea of bringing the best in journalism to Baldwin City and these awards are proof that we've accomplished that.

"The comments and thanks we continue to get from our readers is still the most important feedback we receive about the Signal," said Myrick. "But, the awards as chosen by those in the field of journalism give an unbiased opinion of what we do. Plus, the plaques are really nice."

The contest was open to all newspapers in Kansas and included newspapers produced in 1999. There were more than 2,000 entries in the various categories. These are categories and awards received by the Signal:

  • Personal column writing, Jeff Myrick first.
  • Best use of photos first.
  • Sports pages first.
  • Special sections (Maple Leaf Festival issue) first.
  • Feature package, Valerie Wolf and James Grau first.
  • Design and layout excellence first.
  • Best newspaper Web site second.
  • Feature writing, Valerie Wolf second.
  • Column writing, Jeff Myrick second.
  • Sports writing, Jeff Myrick second.
  • News and writing excellence second.
  • Feature package, Valerie Wolf and James Grau second.
  • Best front page second.
  • Feature photography third.
  • Special sections (Baker University Edition) third.
  • General excellence third.
  • Spot news, Valerie Wolf honorable mention.
  • Feature photography honorable mention.

The Kansas Press Association is a trade group representing most daily and weekly newspapers across the state. It also includes collegiate, associate and affiliate members.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.